A guide to ‘If you like Blyton’ for grown-ups


A while back I compiled a list of all our reviewed authors that you might like if you like Blyton, but it focussed on children’s books. We also have some Blyton for grown-ups recommendations so I’m going to make a separate list of those below (which I will update if we review anything new).miln


Edmondson, Elizabeth

Recommended read: A Man of Some Repute

Elizabeth Edmondson is a pseudonym used by Elizabeth Pewsey, a writer or primarily romance novels. As Edmondson, however, she writes historical mysteries as well as young adult fantasy. A Man of Some Repute falls into the historical mysteries category, being set in the 1950s. It’s the first in a series of three books  and one novella about Hugo Hawksworth – a grown-up Julian Kirrin type – who solves Agatha Christie style murders in and around Selchester Castle.

Kelly, Stephen

Recommended read: The Language of the Dead

Stephen Kelly is also a historical mystery writer, The Language of the Dead is the first of three in his Inspector Lamb series. These are somewhat darker books as they deal with ‘brutal’ murders and as such as a further step than some cosier mysteries.

Milne, A.A.

Recommended read: The Red House Mystery

No, I haven’t made a mistake. You might well recommend A.A. Milne’s most famous works – those about that bear of very little brain, Winnie-the-Pooh – for fans of Blyton’s books, but he also authored a few books for grown ups. One of which is The Red House Mystery where a classic who-dun-it arises upon the murder of the host at a country estate.

Pascoe, Marina

Recommended read: Too Many Cooks

Marina Pascoe is another historical murder mystery writer. As well as some non-fiction works about the history of Cornwall, she has written four books in her Bartlett and Boase series which are set in 1920s Falmouth (her home town).

Sheridan, Sara

Recommended read: Brighton Belle

Continuing the theme with more historical mysteries, Sara Sheridan is the Scottish author of the Mirabelle Bevan series which has eight books so far. Set in 1950s Brighton, Mirabelle Bevan forms her own detective agency (a bold move for a woman at the time) and investigates cases of arson, theft, and several murders.

Tipping, Liz

Recommended read: Five Go Glamping

Liz Tipping is a romantic fiction writer who has written a modern story about four friends and their dog who go on a glamping (glamorous camping) holiday. Liz Tipping is an Enid Blyton fan so the book is s slight homage to the Famous Five.

Vincent, Bruno

Recommended read: Any title you can find cheaply (or better, for free!)

I deliberated over including Bruno Vincent here. He is the author of (so far) fifteen books in his Enid Blyton for Grown-Ups series, all of which feature the Famous Five as adults in the present day. I personally don’t find them very funny over-all, and neither does Stef but I feel like they deserve a mention if only for the lovely Ruth Palmer artwork. Some people seem to find them hilarious, so I can’t discount them entirely.

This entry was posted in Blog talk and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A guide to ‘If you like Blyton’ for grown-ups

  1. chrissie777 says:

    Peter Watson’s “Landscape of Lies” is the perfect Famous Five novel for grown ups for me. The landscape of lies is an old painting which turns out to be a treasure map.

    Like

  2. Anonymous says:

    A young adult one I enjoyed was Girlhood by Cat Clarke which followed a group of year 13s during their last year at an elite boarding school. Whilst it was much darker than Enid Blyton’s stories, it did feature many Blytonesc themes. -frienships -mid-night feasts (albeit with more alchol than in Blyton’s) -Really kind teachers -Sports

    Like

  3. theraggedwagon says:

    Just finished Elizabeth Edmondson’s ‘A Man of Some Repute’, on your recommendation, and it’s a rattling good read. Very Agatha Christie-type mystery at the start but a third of the way through the author really gets into her stride.

    Like

    • Fiona says:

      Glad you enjoyed it! I have to admit I haven’t read it (most of the recommendations in this list are from Stef) though I may do at some point as it sounds like something I would like.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s