Monthly Archives: July 2020

Fan fic Friday: Cunningham and Petrov: The Mystery of the Missing Agent chapter 3

In chapter one Bill (with his donkey code words) turned up at Anatoly’s flat and in chapter two they made some plans. Chapter 3 When Anatoly had left for work Bill got up, stretched, and decided to do his best … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Blog talk | Tagged , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Malory Towers on TV – Episodes eleven and twelve

We are nearly at the end of the series now, only one more episode to go after these two! In case you missed any of the previous posts: Episodes one and two Episodes three and four Episodes five and six … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Blyton on TV | Tagged , , , | 8 Comments

Monday #382

Back to two posts a week for a while I think, now that the locked down library displays are done. Malory Towers on TV Episodes 11 & 12 and Cunningham and Petrov: The Mystery of the Missing Agent chapter 3 … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Blog talk | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Locked down library displays weeks 14 and 15

Here we are at the end of my book displays. I still have no information on when I may return to work but I have more or less run out of ideas, and 100 seems like a nice round number … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in General bookishness | Tagged , , , , | 1 Comment

Fan fic Friday: Cunningham and Petrov: The Mystery of the Missing Agent chapter 2

In chapter one Bill turned up at Anatoly’s flat after spending the night at Mrs Mannering’s home (in the spare room, of course). Chapter 2 The next morning Anatoly moved as quietly round his flat to dress as Bill slept … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Fan fiction | Tagged , , , , , | 1 Comment

If you like Blyton: The Adventurers and the Cursed Castle by Jemma Hatt

As you’ve seen me say before I am always quite wary of anything that proclaims to be perfect for fans of Enid Blyton. However, in this case, I think the claim is justified. There are three books in The Adventurers … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Audio Books and Audio Dramatisations, Reading Recommendations | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

Monday #381

You might not have noticed (I certainly didn’t until yesterday) but I have messed up the numbering of the Monday posts. So I’ve just renumbered 75% of them. Somehow I went from Monday #279  back to #230, not once, but … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Blog talk | Tagged | Leave a comment

Locked down library displays weeks 12 and 13

I’m nearly at the end of these – as I expected I’ve run out of ideas before getting to go back to work. Day #78 123, ABC Day #79 Colours and shapes I had intended to include the first Crayons … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in General bookishness | Tagged , , | 3 Comments

Fanfic Friday: Cunningham and Petrov: The Mystery of the Missing Agent

Previously we wrote about what Bill (and Anatoly) got up to during the events of The Valley of Adventure – we called it The Mystery of the Missing Aeroplane. Now it’s time to find out what the pair of them … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Fan fiction | Tagged , , , , , | 2 Comments

If you like Blyton: the Bobbsey Twins by Laura Lee Hope

This recommendation comes to you via one of my regular readers and commenters, Sean Hagins, as I have never read any Bobbsey Twins books. Sean has reviewed these books extensively on Goodreads and so I will not duplicate them in … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Reading Recommendations | Tagged , , , | 7 Comments

Monday #380

I ran out of time to finish my lock down library post which was meant to go up on Sunday, but that’s because I was writing chapter 9 of The Mystery of the Missing Agent with Stef, so I hope … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Blog talk, Poetry | Tagged , , | 1 Comment

Lego Blyton: Five on a Hike Together

Not too long ago I shared my Lego builds of Five On a Treasure Island. That was the first one I did, and then I got thinking of what else I could build (however badly) out of Lego bricks… and … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Blog talk | Tagged , , , , , , , , | 6 Comments

Five Go Down to the Sea part 3

Well, here we are, finally at the nitpicks I promised. Hope they were worth it! The timeline Warning, this first nitpick is a long one! The timeline of the story in regards to the Barnies’ visit makes no sense to … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Monday #379

Five Go Down to the Sea part 3 and Lego Blyton: Five on a Hike Together and Locked down library displays weeks 12 and 13 I considered doubling back and seeing if I could listen in, but I figured that … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Blog talk | Tagged , | Leave a comment

June 2020 Round Up

This covers week three thousand of the lock down… or something like 10-13 if you’re not using hyperbole. This might be my last full month of it before getting to go back to work but we will see! What I … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Personal Experiences | Tagged , , , , , | 2 Comments

Fan fic Friday: Conquering the Castle, Epilogue

The final chapter of a fairly uneventful story – though I hope you picked up on the hints for the second St Andrews novel which I am hoping to start working on with Stef soon. Previous chapters if you missed … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Fan fiction | Tagged , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Malory Towers on TV – Episodes nine and ten

Malory Towers went on the iPlayer very early in the lock down, so early April and here I am just getting to episodes nine and ten (of thirteen). I know a lot of people binged it but I watch two … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Blyton on TV | Tagged , , , , , | 13 Comments