Tag Archives: If you like Blyton

If you like Blyton: The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

Usually my If you like Blyton posts are on modern-ish authors you might not have heard of, mixed with a few older things that again, you may not have read. This time, though, I fear I may be teaching your grandmother … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Book reviews, Reading Recommendations | Tagged , , , , , | 6 Comments

If you like Blyton: The Indian in the Cupboard by Lynne Reid Banks

Despite being known as a ‘children’s classic’ I have only read this series for the first time recently. I had seen the 1995 film before and had a certain fondness for it, but the notion of there being a book … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

(One to avoid) if you like Blyton: The New Bobbsey Twins #22 The Super-Duper Cookie Caper

We are heading in a slightly different direction with this review; the first Bobbsey Twins post was an overview of the 1980s Wanderer series, which Sean followed with reviews of two of the New Bobbsey Twins books; The Secret of … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment

A guide to ‘If you like Blyton’ for grown-ups

A while back I compiled a list of all our reviewed authors that you might like if you like Blyton, but it focussed on children’s books. We also have some Blyton for grown-ups recommendations so I’m going to make a … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Blog talk | Tagged , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

If you like Blyton: The Adventurers and the City of Secrets

The Adventurers and the City of Secrets is the third book in The Adventurers Series by Jemma Hatt (the fourth, The Adventurers and the Continental Chase just came out at the start of November). Like the previous two books this … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment

If you like Blyton: The New Bobbsey Twins #1 The Secret of Jungle Park

This is a review from Sean, and it contains some spoilers including the identity of the villain. Now, we are going to start my favourite series of Bobbsey Twins mystery series. As I mentioned earlier, the Bobbseys’ first book came … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , , , | 1 Comment

If you like Blyton: The Adventurers and the Temple of Treasure by Jemma Hatt

I recently read, or should I say listened to the first Adventurers book; The Cursed Castle and reviewed it. I was sent audiobooks of the first three titles in the series on audiobook by Jemma Hatt herself, in exchange for … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Audio Books and Audio Dramatisations, Book reviews, Other Authors | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

If you like Blyton: The Adventurers and the Cursed Castle by Jemma Hatt

As you’ve seen me say before I am always quite wary of anything that proclaims to be perfect for fans of Enid Blyton. However, in this case, I think the claim is justified. There are three books in The Adventurers … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Audio Books and Audio Dramatisations, Reading Recommendations | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

If you like Blyton: the Bobbsey Twins by Laura Lee Hope

This recommendation comes to you via one of my regular readers and commenters, Sean Hagins, as I have never read any Bobbsey Twins books. Sean has reviewed these books extensively on Goodreads and so I will not duplicate them in … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Reading Recommendations | Tagged , , , | 7 Comments

If you like Blyton, our guide to other great authors

Over the years we have reviewed lots of books by other authors, because we think that they’re the kind of thing other people might like if they like Enid Blyton books. I thought I would pull together a list of … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Other Authors, Reading Recommendations | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

If you like Blyton: The Harveys See it Through by Phyllis Gegan

You might remember the name Phyllis Gegan from my review of A Mystery for Ninepence recently. I bought this one partly because I like the Collin’s Seagull Library spines and partly because I like collecting books by authors I already … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Book reviews, Reading Recommendations | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

If you like Blyton: A Mystery for Ninepence by Phyllis Gegan

A Mystery for Ninepence, published 1964, is something I picked up in a charity shop because I like the spines on the Collin’s Seagull Library books. I paid a grand price of £3 for this one, and the original price … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Book reviews, Other Authors | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments

If you like Blyton: The Cherrys by Will Scott

I’ll begin this with two points: One – I feel bad about recommending this series because the books are quite hard to find and rather expensive when they are for sale. But not bad enough to not write this post. … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Other Authors, Reading Recommendations | Tagged , , | 9 Comments

If you like Blyton: The Lone Pine Series by Malcolm Saville

I will start with an honest admission – I didn’t like this series the first time I tried it. I had heard that Malcolm Saville was like Enid Blyton and if I like the Famous Five etc then I would … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Reading Recommendations | Tagged , , , , | 9 Comments

If you like Blyton: Cream Buns and Crime by Robin Stevens

Cream Buns and Crime is part of the Murder Most Unladylike series about two girls – Daisy Wells and Hazel Wong – who run their own detective agency at boarding school. We’ve already reviewed the first in the series, Murder Most … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Book reviews, Other Authors, Reading Recommendations | Tagged , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

If you like Blyton: The Borrowers by Mary Norton

There are five books about the Borrowers (and one short story) all written by Mary Norton between 1952 and 1982, but this post will focus mostly on the first in the series. The Borrowers (1952) The Borrowers Afield (1954) The … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Book reviews, Other Authors, Reading Recommendations | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

If you like Blyton: Mischief at Midnight by Esme Kerr, part 3

Last time I left you with lots of questions, and hopefully now there will be some answers. But first, another question… IS EVERYONE INSANE? The protesters all have crazy names and Edie ends up at their encampment. Janet’s supposed to … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Book reviews, Other Authors, Reading Recommendations | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

If you like Blyton: Mischief at Midnight by Esme Kerr, part 2

Here is part two of my review, where a lot of things hot up. HALF-TERM Next up is an exceat weekend – done a little bit differently from the Malory Towers or St Clare’s half-terms that we are familiar with. … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Book reviews, Other Authors, Reading Recommendations | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

If you like Blyton: Mischief at Midnight by Esme Kerr

Mischief at Midnight is set at Knight’s Haddon, a girls’ boarding school, and the first chapter or two sounds rather like Malory Towers. ON THE SURFACE The language is different – but it has a clear posh boarding school sounds … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Book reviews, Other Authors, Reading Recommendations | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

If you like Blyton: The Mystery of Wickworth Manor by Elen Caldecott

In our quest to find books that could be considered similar to Enid Blyton’s novels for you to try yourselves, I have discovered another book by Elen Caldecott, an author I reviewed a few months ago (The Mysteries of Marsh … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Book reviews, Other Authors, Reading Recommendations | Tagged , , | Leave a comment