Tag Archives: If you like Blyton

If you like Blyton: The Adventurers and the Continental Chase by Jemma Hatt

As you might remember I have reviewed three of Jemma Hatt’s books already: The Adventurers and the Cursed Castle The Adventurers and the Temple of Treasure The Adventurers and the City of Secrets I listened to all of the above … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Book reviews, Other Authors | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

If you like Blyton: The Wreck of the Argyll by John K Fulton

I happened to see this on the returns trolley in the children’s library where I work, and I picked it up because of the lighthouse on the cover. I like lighthouses and tend to associate them with Blyton, despite only … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Book reviews, Other Authors | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

If you like Blyton: The Secret of Haven Point by Lisette Auton

I first heard of this book when the cover artist (Gillian Gamble) posted about it on Facebook. I saw the lighthouse and was immediately interested, as somehow, despite only featuring prominently in one book that I can think of, I … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Book reviews, Other Authors | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

If you like Blyton: Mary Poppins by P.L. Travers

The character of Mary Poppins is no stranger to me, but I admit that I am primarily familiar with the film version, as played by the wonderful Julie Andrews. I have also seen the Emily Blunt version, but only once. … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Book reviews, Other Authors, Reading Recommendations | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

If you like Blyton: A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett

I was convinced that I had read this as a child, and in fact I did have a copy of the book – one of those Parragon Children’s Classics with no illustrations. However I was certain I’d read it at … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Book reviews, Other Authors, Reading Recommendations | Tagged , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

If you like Blyton: Shirley Hughes

Usually the title of my if you like Blyton posts contain either a book title or a series by an author, but seeing as I’ve loved everything I’ve read by Shirley Hughes I’m just going to recommend her entire output. … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Book reviews, Reading Recommendations | Tagged , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

If you like Blyton: The Boxcar Children by Gertrude Chandler Warner

I have been meaning to try this series for quite a while. I’m sure I’ve ‘bought’ at least one of the books when it was free on Kindle, but I can’t seem to find it now. Anyway, turns out my … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Book reviews, Other Authors | Tagged , , | 1 Comment

If You Like Blyton: The Mystery of Tully Hall by Zöe Billings

The Mystery of Tully Hall is the first novel from Zöe Billings, who I know from the Enid Blyton Society Forums and the Enid Blyton Day. If you’ve visited the forums yourself you may know her as George@Kirrin, who calls … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Book reviews, Other Authors | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

If you like Blyton: The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

Usually my If you like Blyton posts are on modern-ish authors you might not have heard of, mixed with a few older things that again, you may not have read. This time, though, I fear I may be teaching your grandmother … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Book reviews, Reading Recommendations | Tagged , , , , , | 6 Comments

If you like Blyton: The Indian in the Cupboard by Lynne Reid Banks

Despite being known as a ‘children’s classic’ I have only read this series for the first time recently. I had seen the 1995 film before and had a certain fondness for it, but the notion of there being a book … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

(One to avoid) if you like Blyton: The New Bobbsey Twins #22 The Super-Duper Cookie Caper

We are heading in a slightly different direction with this review; the first Bobbsey Twins post was an overview of the 1980s Wanderer series, which Sean followed with reviews of two of the New Bobbsey Twins books; The Secret of … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment

A guide to ‘If you like Blyton’ for grown-ups

A while back I compiled a list of all our reviewed authors that you might like if you like Blyton, but it focussed on children’s books. We also have some Blyton for grown-ups recommendations so I’m going to make a … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Blog talk | Tagged , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

If you like Blyton: The Adventurers and the City of Secrets

The Adventurers and the City of Secrets is the third book in The Adventurers Series by Jemma Hatt (the fourth, The Adventurers and the Continental Chase just came out at the start of November). Like the previous two books this … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , | 1 Comment

If you like Blyton: The New Bobbsey Twins #1 The Secret of Jungle Park

This is a review from Sean, and it contains some spoilers including the identity of the villain. Now, we are going to start my favourite series of Bobbsey Twins mystery series. As I mentioned earlier, the Bobbseys’ first book came … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Book reviews | Tagged , , , , , | 1 Comment

If you like Blyton: The Adventurers and the Temple of Treasure by Jemma Hatt

I recently read, or should I say listened to the first Adventurers book; The Cursed Castle and reviewed it. I was sent audiobooks of the first three titles in the series on audiobook by Jemma Hatt herself, in exchange for … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Audio Books and Audio Dramatisations, Book reviews, Other Authors | Tagged , , , , | Leave a comment

If you like Blyton: The Adventurers and the Cursed Castle by Jemma Hatt

As you’ve seen me say before I am always quite wary of anything that proclaims to be perfect for fans of Enid Blyton. However, in this case, I think the claim is justified. There are three books in The Adventurers … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Audio Books and Audio Dramatisations, Reading Recommendations | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

If you like Blyton: the Bobbsey Twins by Laura Lee Hope

This recommendation comes to you via one of my regular readers and commenters, Sean Hagins, as I have never read any Bobbsey Twins books. Sean has reviewed these books extensively on Goodreads and so I will not duplicate them in … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Reading Recommendations | Tagged , , , | 7 Comments

If you like Blyton, our guide to other great authors

Over the years we have reviewed lots of books by other authors, because we think that they’re the kind of thing other people might like if they like Enid Blyton books. I thought I would pull together a list of … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Other Authors, Reading Recommendations | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

If you like Blyton: The Harveys See it Through by Phyllis Gegan

You might remember the name Phyllis Gegan from my review of A Mystery for Ninepence recently. I bought this one partly because I like the Collin’s Seagull Library spines and partly because I like collecting books by authors I already … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Book reviews, Reading Recommendations | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

If you like Blyton: A Mystery for Ninepence by Phyllis Gegan

A Mystery for Ninepence, published 1964, is something I picked up in a charity shop because I like the spines on the Collin’s Seagull Library books. I paid a grand price of £3 for this one, and the original price … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Book reviews, Other Authors | Tagged , , , | 4 Comments