Category Archives: Reading Recommendations

If you like Blyton: Mary Poppins by P.L. Travers

The character of Mary Poppins is no stranger to me, but I admit that I am primarily familiar with the film version, as played by the wonderful Julie Andrews. I have also seen the Emily Blunt version, but only once. … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Book reviews, Other Authors, Reading Recommendations | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

If you like Blyton: A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett

I was convinced that I had read this as a child, and in fact I did have a copy of the book – one of those Parragon Children’s Classics with no illustrations. However I was certain I’d read it at … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Book reviews, Other Authors, Reading Recommendations | Tagged , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

If you like Blyton: Shirley Hughes

Usually the title of my if you like Blyton posts contain either a book title or a series by an author, but seeing as I’ve loved everything I’ve read by Shirley Hughes I’m just going to recommend her entire output. … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Book reviews, Reading Recommendations | Tagged , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

If you like Blyton: Nancy Drew by Carolyn Keene

My if-you-like-Blyton post usually suggest books that are slightly less well-known, either newish authors or books that might have been forgotten over time. Whereas Nancy Drew is very much a household name, having been around since the 1930s in various … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Other Authors, Reading Recommendations | Tagged , , | 6 Comments

A guide to Enid Blyton reference books

I have already written a guide to Enid Blyton biographies, books which have covered various aspects of her life and career, so what’s left are some non-fiction books that don’t really fit the biography category. So You Think You Know … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Other Authors, Reading Recommendations | Tagged , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

A guide to Enid Blyton biographies

We all know that Enid Blyton wrote a lot of books, an awful awful lot of books. As well as being phenomenally popular she has been a controversial figure both during and after her career. So it’s perhaps not surprising … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Enid Blyton, Other Authors, Reading Recommendations | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

If you like Blyton: The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett

Usually my If you like Blyton posts are on modern-ish authors you might not have heard of, mixed with a few older things that again, you may not have read. This time, though, I fear I may be teaching your grandmother … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Book reviews, Reading Recommendations | Tagged , , , , , | 6 Comments

On my bookshelf part 7

A while back I gave you detailed tours of my main bookcases. First up were my Blytons in parts one, two and three, Blyton and Malcolm Saville in part four, miscellaneous children’s books in part five and my collection of … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Personal Experiences, Purchases, Reading Recommendations | Tagged , , | 2 Comments

If you like Blyton: The New Bobbsey Twins #5 The Case of the Close Encounter

Recently Sean introduced us to the first of the New Bobbsey Twins books with his review of the first book in the series, The Secret of Jungle Park. Now he will take us through his favourites from the series starting … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Book reviews, Reading Recommendations | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

If you like Blyton: The Adventurers and the Cursed Castle by Jemma Hatt

As you’ve seen me say before I am always quite wary of anything that proclaims to be perfect for fans of Enid Blyton. However, in this case, I think the claim is justified. There are three books in The Adventurers … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Audio Books and Audio Dramatisations, Reading Recommendations | Tagged , , , , | 2 Comments

If you like Blyton: the Bobbsey Twins by Laura Lee Hope

This recommendation comes to you via one of my regular readers and commenters, Sean Hagins, as I have never read any Bobbsey Twins books. Sean has reviewed these books extensively on Goodreads and so I will not duplicate them in … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Reading Recommendations | Tagged , , , | 7 Comments

Blyton by others: A guide to prequels, sequels and continuations

While writing a guide to our recommended authors if you like Blyton, I had jotted down some other names. These names were of people who had written books featuring Blyton’s own characters, and in the end I decided that these … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Other Authors, Reading Recommendations | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

If you like Blyton, our guide to other great authors

Over the years we have reviewed lots of books by other authors, because we think that they’re the kind of thing other people might like if they like Enid Blyton books. I thought I would pull together a list of … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Other Authors, Reading Recommendations | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

If you like Blyton: The Harveys See it Through by Phyllis Gegan

You might remember the name Phyllis Gegan from my review of A Mystery for Ninepence recently. I bought this one partly because I like the Collin’s Seagull Library spines and partly because I like collecting books by authors I already … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Book reviews, Reading Recommendations | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

On my bookshelf part 6

I’ve covered all my Blytons now, and most of my childrens’ books, so I thought I would just give a quick overview of my other bookcase. This one is mostly books for grown-ups. The detective/supernatural shelf Not everything fits that … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Personal Experiences, Purchases, Reading Recommendations | Tagged , , | 2 Comments

If you like Blyton: The Cherrys by Will Scott

I’ll begin this with two points: One – I feel bad about recommending this series because the books are quite hard to find and rather expensive when they are for sale. But not bad enough to not write this post. … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Other Authors, Reading Recommendations | Tagged , , | 10 Comments

On my bookshelf part 5

I have written about most of my Blyton books already, but there are more children’s books in my collection. I have another shelf of mostly vintage books and one of mostly newer ones, which also has my collection of Blyton … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Personal Experiences, Purchases, Reading Recommendations | Tagged , , , , , , , , , | 6 Comments

Blyton on birthdays

As it would have been Enid Blyton’s one hundred and twenty-second birthday on Sunday, I thought I’d do a post looking at birthdays in her books. Birthday books The Exciting Birthday Published in 1927, The Exciting Birthday is all about … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Reading Recommendations | Tagged , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Enid Blyton, praise and criticism part 3: The Ultimate First Book Guide

The Ultimate First Book Guide claims to contain over 500 great books for 0-7s. This might be dangerous for me as I will probably see lots of things I will want to read, I really enjoy going back and reading popular children’s … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Book reviews, Reading Recommendations | Tagged , , , , | 3 Comments

Putting the Five Find-Outers books in order, part 3

I’ve covered my top Find-Outer books and my middling Find-Outer books so now it’s time for my least favourites. As I put in the first post least favourite doesn’t mean books I dislike. It just means I like them a bit less … Continue reading

Rate this:

Posted in Personal Experiences, Reading Recommendations | Tagged , , , , , , , | 5 Comments